About 1200 years ago, Unnao was covered with extensive forest. Godo Singh, a Chauhan Rajput, cleared the forests probably in the 3rd quarter of the 12th Century and founded a town, called Sawai Godo, which shortly afterwards passed into the hands of the rulers of the Kannauj, who appointed Khande Singh as the Governor of the place. Unwant Singh, a Bisen Rajput and a lieutenant of the Governor, killed him and built a fort here, renaming the place as Unnao after himself. The town of Unnao is one of the five Tehsils and the headquarters of Unnao District in Uttar Pradesh, very close to the cities of Kanpur and Lucknow. It is historically known to be a land of authors and freedom fighters. Popular among them are Raja Rao Ram Bux Singh, Maulana Hasarat Mohani, Ram Beni Madhav, Pd. Vishambher Dayalu Tripathi, Thakur Jasingh, Narpat Singh, Barjor Singh, Hathi Singh, Devi Bux Singh, Mansab Ali, Kasturi Singh, Bhopal Singh and Chandrika Bux Singh. In the field of literature, this land has produced legends like Maharishi Valmiki and Suryakant Tripathi ‘Nirala’, one of the most significant poets of modern Hindi. To continue the legacy in Unnao, the District Library was established here in 1982-83. On 27th February 1991, this library was named after Shri Vishwambhar Dayalu Tripathi who was a forefront leader in the Indian freedom struggle.